Hermann Bemberg: Chant Hindou (Hindu Song)

3 04 2009
a

The Temple of Brahma in Pushkar

The West has always had a fascination with the East, and in the Romantic period,  “Orientalism” in the arts was a particularly strong trend. Hermann Bemberg’s Chant Hindou was quite popular as a result, though the music itself shows little to no eastern influence. Today, Bemberg would be called a one-hit wonder, Chant Hindou being his hit song.

A note on this recording: There are no indications in the music that the interludes in this piece should move along at a quicker pace than the rest of the music as they do here. I presume this is due to the 78 RPM disc on which it was recorded — in order not to go beyond the disc’s three-minute length, tempi were often incredibly quick, particularly in piano interludes.

There is no translation at recmusic, so I have submitted one. It appears below:

Brahma, god of believers, master of holy cities,
Do you not hear my long sobs?
At your holy river I repeat my plaints,
That they will be carried to you in its streams.

He has left this world
Who loved me when I loved him,
And my grief is profound.
I suffer forever.

He has left this world, he has left this life,
And me, I shall never again see his eyes,
I shall never again hear his voice, my cold lips
Shall no longer have his amorous kisses.

I have nothing left of his mad embraces,
Nothing, nothing, Brahma, but my sobs!
At your holy river I repeat my plaints,
That they will be carried to you in its streams.

He has left this world
Who loved me when I loved him,
And my grief is profound.
I suffer forever.

Actions

Information

One response

24 07 2009
Gabriela Zayas

I’m interested in hearing this song. Do you have any news on recods?
Thank you in advance.

Leave a Reply

